About Us

Our Sorority

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was founded on January 13, 1913 by twenty-two collegiate women at Howard University. These students wanted to use their collective strength to promote academic excellence and to provide assistance to persons in need.

The Grand Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. has a membership of over 200,000 predominately African-American, college-educated women. The Sorority currently has over 900 chapters located in the United States, Tokyo, Japan, Okinawa, Japan, Germany, Bermuda, the Bahamas, Seoul, Korea, and St. Thomas and St. Croix in the U.S. Virgin Islands. For more information on the history and other areas of interest of this dynamic organization, please visit the official website of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Our Chapter

It was a historic day for Dallas, Texas, in 1924 when the Dallas Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was established. Soror Frederica Chase Dodd, one of the twenty-two National Founders, organized the chapter and served as its first president. Along with Soror Dodd, the following sorors will long be remembered as the cornerstones of the chapter: Jessie Pollard, Ruth Mason, Ruby Pollard Reed, Nettie Wycliff, Rowena Wilkins Blackmon, Lillian Thompson, Koletta Jefferson Washington, Marie Starks Burke, Jessie T. Rice, Rezolia Thrash, Doris Tipps, Irene Dobbs Jackson, Deraline Winston McKenzie, Leatrice Porter, Myrtle Saddler, and DeArtis Pryor Purify.

Today, as inheritors of a remarkable legacy of greatness, the Dallas Alumnae Chapter has withstood the test of time and continues to grow tremendously in its membership, which enables the chapter to be in the forefront fulfilling the mission of the Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. empowering people and making a difference in the Dallas, Texas community.