Our Chapter

It was a historic day for Dallas, Texas, in 1924 when the Dallas Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was established. Soror Frederica Chase Dodd, one of the twenty-two National Founders, organized the chapter and served as its first president. Along with Soror Dodd, the following sorors will long be remembered as the cornerstones of the chapter: Jessie Pollard, Ruth Mason, Ruby Pollard Reed, Nettie Wycliff, Rowena Wilkins Blackmon, Lillian Thompson, Koletta Jefferson Washington, Marie Starks Burke, Jessie T. Rice, Rezolia Thrash, Doris Tipps, Irene Dobbs Jackson, Deraline Winston McKenzie, Leatrice Porter, Myrtle Saddler, and DeArtis Pryor Purify.

Today, as inheritors of a remarkable legacy of greatness, the Dallas Alumnae Chapter has withstood the test of time and continues to grow tremendously in its membership, which enables the chapter to be in the forefront fulfilling the mission of the Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. empowering people and making a difference in the Dallas, Texas community.